2014 Convocation

Initiating the One Hundred Thirty-Ninth Session of Meharry Medical College, Monday, October 13, 2014 at Ten o'clock in the Morning in The Cal Turner Family Center for Student Education, Ballroom - Second Floor

Keynote Speaker
André L. Churchwell, M.D.
Professor of medicine (cardiology), professor of radiology and radiological sciences, professor of biomedical engineering and senior associate dean for diversity affairs at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.

Award Recipients
Bishop Joseph W. Walker III
Pastor, Mt. Zion Baptist Church
Nashville, Tennessee
Honorary Degree

Edith Faye Smith-Rayford, M.D., ’88
Obstetrician & gynecologist with Central Mississippi Medical Center and South Central Regional Medical Center
Axel Hanson Award

Robert S. Elam, D.D.S. ’80, MAGD
Dental practitioner in Nashville, specializing in comprehensive restorative and cosmetic dentistry
Fred Fielder Award

Cynthia M. Harris, Ph.D., ’85, DABT
Director of the Institute of Public Health at Florida A&M University
Harold West Award