Student Affairs

Meharry Medical College Division of Student Affairs Honored with Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence (TNCPE) Interest Award

Meharry Medical College Division of Student Affairs was honored at the 22nd Annual Excellence in Tennessee Awards Banquet, held on Wednesday, March 11. The TNCPE Interest Award is the beginning level for organizations interested in adopting and applying performance improvement principles.

The Interest Award was presented by Greg Adams, Chief Operating Officer, State of Tennessee, and TNCPE President and CEO, Katie Rawls. Nearly 400 business and community leaders from across Tennessee packed the ballroom of the Franklin Marriott Cool Springs to salute the winners. 48 organizations representing high-performing businesses, government agencies, nonprofit and education organizations were recognized for their commitment to excellence and continuous improvement.

 For more information, visit www.TNCPE.org.


The Division of Student Affairs provides administrative leadership to units which serve the entire College. The following units comprise Student Affairs:

Administration and Staff

Placeholder Image

A. Dexter Samuels, Ph.D.

SRVP, Student Affairs &
Executive Director, Robert Wood Johnson
Foundation Center for Health Policy

Phone: 615.327.6435
Email: dsamuels@mmc.edu

Chen, Chau-Kuang

Chau-Kuang Chen, Ph.D.

Director, Institutional Research
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Office of Institutional Research

Office Phone: 615.327.6848
Email: ckchen@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Mariah L. Cole,  JD

Director of Program Management
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Center for Health Policy

Office Phone: 615.327.5503
Email: mcole@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Patricia M. Hammock, M.Ed.

Director, Title III 
Division: Student Affairs

Phone: 615.327.6435
Email: phammock@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Tammi Y. Lavender, MBA

Director, Student Life
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Office of Student Life

Office Phone: 615.963.3177
Email: tlavender@mmc.edu

Sharda Mishra

Sharda Mishra, Ph.D.

Director, Counseling Services
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Counseling Services

Phone: 615.327.6312
Email: smishra@mmc.edu

Barbara Tharpe

Barbara F. Tharpe, MS

Director, Student Financial Aid
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Student Financial Aid

Office Phone: 615.327.6826
Email: btharpe@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Sonja C. Vientos, MBA/MHA

Registrar
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Office of the Registrar

Office Phone: 615.327.6466
Email: svientos@mmc.edu

RoslynWhite

Roslyn M. White

Director, Admissions and Recruitment
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Admissions

Office Phone: 615.327.6998
Email: rwhite@mmc.edu