Student Affairs

Meharry Medical College Division of Student Affairs Honored with Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence (TNCPE) Commitment Award

The Meharry Medical College Division of Student Affairs was honored at the 23rd Annual Excellence in Tennessee Awards Banquet, held on Wednesday, February 24, 2016. The Commitment Award is the intermediate level of the TNCPE program. It recognizes organizations that are beginning to demonstrate serious commitment to, and implementation of, performance improvement principles.

The Commitment Award was presented by Rebecca Hunter, Commissioner, Department of Human Resources, State of Tennessee, and TNCPE President and CEO, Katie Rawls. More than 450 business and community leaders from across Tennessee packed the ballroom of the Franklin Marriott Cool Springs to salute the winners. 44 organizations representing high-performing businesses, government agencies, nonprofit and education organizations were recognized for their commitment to excellence and continuous improvement.

 For more information, visit www.TNCPE.org.


The Division of Student Affairs provides administrative leadership to units which serve the entire College. The following units comprise Student Affairs:

Administration and Staff

Placeholder Image

A. Dexter Samuels, Ph.D.

SRVP, Student Affairs &
Executive Director, Robert Wood Johnson
Foundation Center for Health Policy

Phone: 615.327.6435
Email: dsamuels@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Mariah L. Cole,  JD

Director of Program Management
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Center for Health Policy

Office Phone: 615.327.5503
Email: mcole@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Patricia M. Hammock, M.Ed.

Student Affairs Specialist
Division: Student Affairs

Phone: 615.327.6435
Email: phammock@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Tammi Y. Lavender, MBA

Director, Student Life
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Office of Student Life

Office Phone: 615.963.3177
Email: tlavender@mmc.edu

Sharda Mishra

Sharda Mishra, Ph.D.

Director, Counseling Services
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Counseling Services

Phone: 615.327.6312
Email: smishra@mmc.edu

Barbara Tharpe

Barbara F. Tharpe, MS

Director, Student Financial Aid
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Student Financial Aid

Office Phone: 615.327.6826
Email: btharpe@mmc.edu

Placeholder Image

Sonja C. Vientos, MBA/MHA

Registrar
Division: Student Affairs
Department: Office of the Registrar

Office Phone: 615.327.6466
Email: svientos@mmc.edu