National Advisory Board

The National Advisory Board of the RWJF Center for Health Policy at Meharry Medical College consists of experts and leaders in health and health policy from across the nation providing the center’s executive director with advice, guidance, and counsel in the development and implementation of the strategic plan, assistance in identifying opportunities for furthering the center's development, and promotion of the center’s affiliated fellows and scholars.  The National Advisory Board members are:

blumsteinJames Blumstein, M.A., L.L.B.
University Professor of Law
Vanderbilt Law School
Director, Vanderbilt Health Policy Center
Vanderbilt University


Susan Busch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Public Health (Health Policy) and of Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Chair, Health Policy and Management
Yale University

rosalyn carpenterMs. Rosalyn Carpenter
Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion
Catholic Health Initiatives
Englewood, Colorado 

dubayLisa Dubay, Ph.D., Sc.M.
Senior Fellow
Urban Institute



fristWilliam Frist, M.D.
Former U.S. Senator and Majority Leader
Nashville, Tennessee



Darrell J. Gaskin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Health Economics
Department of Health Policy and Management
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

kominskiGerald Kominski, Ph.D.
Director, UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
Professor of Health Policy and Management, UCLA Fielding School of Public Health​
University of California Los Angeles


thomas_laveistThomas A. LaVeist, Ph.D.
William C. and Nancy F. Richardson Professor in Health Policy
Department of Health Policy and Management
Director, Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health


Daniel Polsky, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
Robert D. Eilers Professor in Health Care Management and Economics, The Wharton School
Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

ullmannSteven G. Ullmann, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Health Sector Management & Policy
Professor of Economics, School of Business Administration
Professor of Epidemiology & Public Health and Family Medicine & Community Health, School of Medicine
Miami University


Rueben C. Warren, D.D.S., M.P.H., Dr.P.H., M.Div.

Director, National Center for Bioethics in Research and Health Care
Tuskegee University


Ad Hoc Members:

A. Dexter Samuels, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President, Student & Faculty Affairs
Executive Director, RWJF Center for Health Policy
Meharry Medical College

John Sloop, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Vanderbilt University