health policy Scholars Rack Up Awards at 139th Fall Convocation


Pomp and circumstance were in full effect at Meharry Medical College's 139th Fall Convocation, held October 13, 2014 in the newly-constructed Cal Turner Family Center. The time-honored tradition marks the official start of the academic year. But for most students, it's a proud moment to celebrate the plethora of scholarships, awards and merit prizes bestowed upon Meharry's finest. Among the recipients were many Health Policy Scholars. One scholar in particular, Italo Brown, a fourth-year medical student, was given the surprise of a lifetime during the ceremony--a full academic scholarship! Brown was one of four Meharry students to receive a Student Leadership Title III Scholarship, which will cover the full tuition cost of his final year of medical school.

Congratulations to all of our Scholars who received honors during Convocation. Below is a list of their scholarships and awards:

Tiffany Alexander
The Donald F. Brittenum, M.D. Scholarship Fund
The Ernest and Juanita E. Shell Memorial Scholarship
The George H. and Gertrude J. Schiff Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Italo Brown
Student Leadership Title III Scholarship
The Carl J. Herzog Presidential Scholarship Award
The Northern California Chapter of the Meharry Alumni Association Scholarship

Lawrence Brown
The Edmund S. Butts, M.D. Endowed Scholarship

James Capers
The Irene Good Coombes Endowed Scholarship
The Leroy Jenkins, D.D.S. Memorial Scholarship

Rian Cho
The Calvin L. Calhoun Sr., M.D. Award in Anatomical Sciences
The Meharry Award in Physiology
The Neuroscience Award
The Meharry General Endowed Scholarship
Dean's List

Rachel Cooper
The BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Scholarship
The Dr. Edwin T. Johnson, M.D. Family Memorial Scholarship
Dean's List

Damien Cuffie
Dr. Daryl C. Byrd Family Scholarship 
The Frances Norman Scholarship

Christian Davillier
The Oral Diagnostic Sciences Award
The Coventry and Roughgarden Endowed Scholarship
The New York Area Scholarship
Dean's List

Sydne Ford
The Drs. L. T. and Margaret W. Reid Scholarship
Thomas W. Johnson, Sr. M.D. '57 Memorial Scholarship
The William M. Chavis, M.D. Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Eddie Hackler, III
Meharry National Alumni Association Scholarship 
The Carl J. Herzog Presidential Scholarship Award
The Eleanor Chippey Grier Endowed Scholarhship
The James and Virginia Merrill First Generation Scholarship
The Robert E. Dawson, M.D. Student Leadership Award

Kelly Harris
Rufus Brackett Jr. Memorial Scholarship
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology Academic Achievement Award
NIH Pre-Doctoral Fellowship Award
Dean's List

Peyton Harris
The DeWitt Wallace/Reader’s Digest Fund Endowed Scholarship
The Cortland Woodbury Davis and Laura Amelia Davis Whisnant Student Fund
The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Dean's List

Movado Long
The Carl J. Herzog Presidential Scholarship

Cheryl Onwu
The Teagle Foundation Scholarship
The SURDNA Scholarship
MSPH Academic Achievement Award
Dean's List 

Samuel Pellom
The Clare and William H. Newman Endowed Scholarship
Dean's Award for Scientific Productivity
Dean's List

Minoo Sarkarati
Dean's List

Ciera Scales
The Collins Family Endowment for Student Scholarship
The Robert Donald Wood, D.D.S. Award
Dean's List

Jamar Slocum
The Clark Memorial United Methodist Church Scholarship

Nathanael Smith
The Carl J. Herzog Presidential Scholarship Award
The Ilma F Kern Scholarship
Dean's List

Tiffany Turner
Microbiology and Immunology Program Academic Achievement Award
Dean's List

Tulani Washington-Plaskett
The DeWitt Burton Endowed Scholarship