SOM 1915-1910


“Declared through the ages by those who came before us . . .”

By 1915, the Meharry Medical Department received a separate charter to operate independently as Meharry Medical College. That same year, the G.W. Hubbard Hospital Foundation, comprised of the wives, daughters, and sisters of Meharry faculty, raised enough money to erect Hubbard Hospital, honoring the College’s first president and dean. Dr. Hubbard remained president until his death in 1921.

The Meharry community has sustained, grown, and progressed thanks to the continued commitment of administrators, faculty, students, and alumni. A few visionaries who embodied and advanced the Meharry Mission Statement, particularly with regard to the School of Medicine, include:

  • Hulda Margaret Lyttle, ’12—Director of Nurses’ Training and Superintendent of Hubbard Hospital
  • Dr. Matthew Walker, Faculty—Surgery Department Chair, established first surgical residency, and enlisted community support for what would become the Matthew Walker Comprehensive Health Center in 1968
  • Dr. Dorothy Lavinia Brown, ’48—First African-American woman to become a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and first to serve in the Tennessee State Legislature
  • Dr. E. Perry Crump,’41—Pediatrics Department Chair, premier researcher in premature births and mental disabilities; also studied the relationship between socio-economic factors and infant mortality
  • Dr. Harold D. West, 5th President—First African-American president (1952), first to synthesize a new isomer of Threonine; establishes Department of Psychiatry and Social Work; integrated the student body in 1957
  • Dr. Lloyd C. Elam, 6th President—During his administration, 14 new facilities are built; Meharry becomes the first medical center in the nation to offer a comprehensive health care delivery system with teams headed by physicians and dentists; Ph.D. courses in pharmacology, biochemistry, and microbiology are established.
  • Dr. David Satcher, 8th President—During his administration, Meharry proposes merging Hubbard Hospital with Metro General and establishes our nation’s first Institute on Health Care for the Poor and Undeserved. Dr. Satcher served as U.S. Surgeon-General under Presidents Clinton and Bush.
  • Dr. John E. Maupin, 9th President—During his administration, Hubbard Hospital is renovated and became Metro General Hospital; Meharry’s Centers for Women’s Health and AIDS Research are established.

Click here to learn about Meharry today.