meharry student in class

Academic Departments

The Meharry School of Medicine's rigorous academic program integrates the basic and clinical sciences to equip our graduates with the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and behaviors necessary to practice medicine that is safe, effective, ethical, and compassionate.

The School of Medicine has thirteen departments: Biochemistry and Cancer Biology, Microbiology and Immunology, Neuroscience and Pharmacology, Professional and Medical Education, Physiology, Family and Community Medicine, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pathology, Anatomy and Cell Biology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Radiology and Surgery.