Meharry to Celebrate its 138th Fall Convocation, Monday, October 14

Meharry Medical College will celebrate its 138th Convocation, October 14, 2013 in the Compton-Nelson Auditorium of the Stanley S. Kresge Learning Resource Center beginning at 10 a.m.

Held annually in the fall, Meharry's Convocation ceremony officially marks the formal beginning of the academic year celebrating the scholarly success of students and faculty.

Ambassador Andrew Jackson Young, politician, diplomat, activist of the Civil Rights Movement and friend and supporter of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., will be our honored keynote speaker. Young will also be the recipient of an honorary degree from the College.

Awards to be presented include the Axel C. Hansen, M.D. ’44 Distinguished Physician Award, the Fred C. Fielder, D.D.S. ’60 Distinguished Dentist Award and the Harold D. West, Ph.D. Distinguished Biomedical Scientist Award.

Rueben C. Warren, D.D.S., ’72, M.P.H., Dr.P.H., M.Div., will receive an honorary degree and Dorothy Burton Berry will be awarded the Presidential Distinguished Service Medal.

Please click here to read more about Ambassador Young.