Students in the News

La'Nyia Odoms WIM

LGBT Leadership Scholarship
Congratulations to La'Nyia Odoms, rising 3rd year Medical Student on being selected to receive a $5,000 LGBT Leadership Scholarship from Women in Medicine for 2014. She was invited to speak at the Women In Medicine Conference in Ogunquit, Maine, August 6 - 10, 2014, where she will receive the award. Keep up the great work!

Women In Medicine Logo







Student National Medical Association Annual Medical Education Conference Highlights

SNMA LogoMeharry Medical College School of Medicine was well-represented at the Student National Medical Association (SNMA) 50th Anniversary Annual Medical Education Conference (AMEC) 2014 sending fourteen students to serve as delegates. A total of three Meharry students presented original research at the conference and fielded questions from scholars and audience members.

 Dr. Wilbert C. Jordan Research Forum Presenters:

  • Tulani Washington-Plaskett, MS-III
  • Taryn Smith, MS-III
  • Christopher D. Watson, MS-III

SNMA Into the Streets

The Meharry SNMA Chapter won 1st Place for the Community Service Poster Session. "Into the Streets: Community Health Outreach in Barbershops and Beauty Shops" was the name of the winning project. This was a student led community outreach effort where students partners with local Nashville barbershop and beauty salons to educate community members about certain health risks that most commonly affect minority. Christopher D. Watson was awarded the Clinical Sciences Membership Scholarship.  

Three Meharry Students will serve on the newly elected Region X Executive Board. 

  • Assistant Regional Director – Christopher D. Watson, MS-III
  • Regional Treasurer – Zalika Nisbeth, MS- III
  • Regional Parliamentarian - Estevana Isaac, MS-I

Congratulations to SNMA Meharry Chapter President Tulani-Washington Plaskett, MS-III and outgoing Regional Treasurer JaMia Washington, MS-III for organizing a successful year and trip to the conference.


Share Your News!
Meharry Students, we want to acknowledge and highlight your accomplishments! Send your news to to be included on this page.