Administration


Each CTSA is led by a principal investigator, an established clinician scientist, who has the primary responsibility to define objectives and approaches of the CTSA and to oversee the CTSA at a local level as well as collaborate with the national CTSA consortium.

Duane Smoot M.D.
Principal Investigator, Meharry CTSA
Chair, Internal Medicine
Phone: 615.327.6277
dsmoot@mmc.edu

John Murray, M.D., Ph.D.
Co-Investigator, Regulatory Compliance and Training, and
Associate Vice President for Clinical Research
615.327.5724
jmurray@mmc.edu

Margaret Hargreaves, Ph.D.
Co-Investigator and Associate Director, Community Engaged Research Core
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
615.327.6999
mhargreaves@mmc.edu

Zhongmao Guo Ph.D. 
Scientific Review Committee Member and
Faculty Mentor, Community Engaged Research Core
Professor, Department of Physiology
615.327.6804
zguo@mmc.edu

Maureen Sanderson, Ph.D.
Faculty Mentor, Community Engaged Research Core
Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine
615.321.2977
msanderson@mmc.edu

Desiree Johnson, M.H.A.
Director, Regulatory Affairs and Research Subject Advocate, IRB
615.327.5654
djohnson@mmc.edu

Jared Elzey
Investigator Advocate
615.327.5800
jelzey@mmc.edu

Tonya Micah
Investigator Advocate
615.327.6237
tmicah@mmc.edu